A New Woodworkers Sharpening Theory

RJsumthn

I'm new to woodworking and am looking to build my tool collection (who isn't). Right now I am focusing on getting chisels and hand planes. While I was trying to decide where to spend the little money I have, I made a realization.

I was looking at a WoodRiver Jack Plane and I almost bought it, which would have been all the money I could spare. Then I started thinking about the maintenance and the initial tuning of the plane. I realized that my cheap $10 wavy sharpening stone will only make the plane worse and what is the point to spending all that money on a plane that I can't keep tuned up. So I made the decision that I need to invest in a good sharpening system before I start getting the good planes and chisels.

I went online to Woodcraft and ordered a 8" x 3" DMT Dia-Sharp extra course diamond stone and a 6" x 2" DMT Dia-Sharp extra fine/fine combination diamond stone.

I hope that theses stones work well for me. I got the bigger stone to also use as a flattening stone for when I decide to get some higher grit waterstones in the future.

I just want to see if anyone else see's the logic as I do. I hope i'm not crazy by getting the sharpening stuff before I get the tools.

I also orded the 4-piece WoodRiver chisel set from woodcraft since it was half off. These half to be better than the chisels I got from Harbor Freight. I found a black and decker chisel and the steel in that made the Harbor Freight ones look like marshmellows

A DMT extra fine is only 1200 grit. In most cases, that's not good enough for a finisher. The simple solution is to buy more stones. If you're looking for the cheapest solution to improve on what you have, I would say a strop may work for you. You would still have to avoid hard woods.

cheers,

wm_crash, the friendly hooligan