Getting Started with SketchUp

Chris H

I appologize if this infrormation is already out there.  I didn't see it with a search.

I am wondering if you guys have any reccomendations for someone who has never used Google SketchUp.  I have some experience with different CAD programs, but that is all rough carpentry kind of stuff. 

I would love to start using SketchUp to get a visual for a client (or my wife) to sign off on.  My understanding it that it works with cutlist or has a cutlist function which would be extremely helpful for me.  I waste far too much wood because of bad cut planning. 

TIA, and again, sorry if I just missed a thread already on this subject.

Hi Chris. I find that there are a lot of great tutorials on the internet for SketchUp especially on You Tube. Sometimes, though,  you don't know exactly how to ask the questions to get the answers you need. I use SketchUp Pro every day for my job so I do have a lot of extensive knowledge on how to accomplish specific things in SketchUp. If you (or anyone else reading this) have any specific questions you can e-mail me directly at info@woodsketcher.com. I'd be glad to help you.

Im not a fan of sketchup and find it very limiting. I use 2020 v10 and on occasion when I need to get overly detailed I use Thermwood ecabinets. ecabinets is free for professionals but I dont think they really check. It is resource intensive and only runs on pc but doesnt take advantage of dual processors does better on mac with bootcamp.

Don

Do a Google search for "cutlist Sketchup plugin" and you'll find some good information for doing cutlists. I'm wondering, Don, how do you find Sketchup limiting? I realize it may not be as automated as 20/20, but you can create anything you want in Sketchup. I don't know a lot about 20/20, but it seems like a program geared towards kitchen and bath designers. Can you draw furniture with 20/20?