Absolute beginner, becoming frustrated

BDY33

As a hobby you picked an expensive one that is true. It doesnt have to happen over night nor do you have to listen to all the arm chair woodworkers all over the internet. Use some common sense and buy what you can afford. A shop vac works just fine most of the time with smaller tools, just add a drywall bag and it will collect the fines just like an expensive collector. Move outside when you can to keep dust out of the house. Just use some common sense.

Don

• Like 2

I am in the same position as you. I did pick up the Porter Cable Portable Table Saw from Lowes for $300 plus $40 for a new blade. This has been a good saw so far and would recommend it for a beginner. As with the Jointer and Planer I went to the local antique mall and got a Stanley #4 and Sargent #5 (smoother and jack planes) for $30 each. With very little practice I was able to get flat and square boards. With the planes you do need to find a sharpening system and the scary sharp method will work well with minimal start up cost. However, I invested in a DMT Dia-Sharp Extra course diamond plate (i use this for lapping the water stone) and a King 1000/6000 grit water stone. That will cost about $120 but will last a very long time and it can be used for other things like chisels and maybe even your wife's kitchen knives (it may help justify the purchase some). With hand planes the dust is minimal and with the table saw a shop vac will be adequate.

I do have intentions on getting a planer and jointer and all that fun stuff but it will be a long slow process but I can get just about everything done with what I have, it just takes a little bit longer.

• Like 2

I know how you feel. 

Good news?  You're not as stuck as you think you are.