Tips For Fuming Red Oak?

Boatworks Today

I posted this Fall that I had a bunch of red oak quartersawn and now I'm looking to start experimenting on finishing techniques to really make the fleck / grain POP!  This lumber has some wicked character!!!

From what I've come across fuming seems to give the best results (although maybe not the safest)...  I work with chemicals on a daily basis and am equipped to manage this aspect :D

BUT, I've never done this before (fuming)..  I don't typically work with oak, but I have a lot of it and being QS there is a lot of character to highlight!!   I grew up with regular sawn oak everywhere in the house (with the big cathedral grain lines) and it creeped me out as a child; I always saw aliens in the patterns :o .  But QS is a much different appearance...

Has anyone tried the fuming process on red oak?  If so, any tips to pass along? 

I've already ordered the 28% aqua ammonia and it should be delivered early next week..

Also, I know that QS white oak would be better for this, but red is what I have :)  

Thank you!

~Andy

I haven't tried it myself, but I remember reading an article somewhere (wish I could remember where) that gave a brief run-down of the process.  I remember thinking: "Gee.  Even I could do that," which means that it's almost falling off a log simple.

From what I remember, you sand to final grit, leave the parts propped up in your fuming tent, and leave the dish of ammonia inside.  The smaller the tent, the smaller the amount of ammonia you need.  No ventilation in the tent for obvious reasons, but they recommended a ventilation period immediately after opening the tent and before removing the fumed process.

Here's where my memory gets fuzzy.  I don't remember if they went through another stage of sanding, due to raised grain or not.  And from what I remember, the pieces were put in without being assembled first, although the components should probably be assembled.