Workbench width and height?

wjffineww

Now I realize this is totally subjective but what, as a general rule, what is a good width and height for a hand tool, and power tool workbench. As it sits now its about 30'' wide and 36'' high. I'm about 5'10''. Bench is used for all assembly, planing, and anything else you'd use a bench for. I think it's too high now, just not sure how much to lower it. Is 24'' too narrow?

I'm 6' my bench is 38" high according to the rule of thumb it's too tall. The rule of thumb is with your arms out in front of you palms down your bench should be from the floor to your palms. I have long arms so that would have been uncomfortable to me as I would have to stoop to much which is hard on my old carpenters back. Sometimes I wish it was higher I've never wished it was lower.

I'm 5'11" and the bench I'm building will be 34" tall, 6' long, and 2' wide. If I went by rule of thumb then the bench should be 32" tall but since I'm a hybrid woodworker I decided that I wanted it a little taller. If you do a lot of hand planing then the lower bench is better. It allows you to get over top of a board and put more downward pressure on a plane. 

My old bench is 38" tall and I found that to be a little high when planing and when dealing with larger pieces.

"

I think the traditional Roubo style bench is 24" wide so no it is not to narrow. For me, I wish my bench could be 30" deep but then that would be cutting it very close for when I need to get a car in the garage.

Good advice from Ace. If you feel your bench is a bit high take of 1/2" and try it for a week. Keep sawing off until you hit your sweet spot. We are all individuals and tailoring your bench to your needs should be your aim.