jHop

Members
  • Posts

    1,451
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About jHop

  • Birthday 05/24/1975

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Broadview Heights, OH
  • Woodworking Interests
    Turning, drawing, cutting, carving, and drilling. Interests do NOT include sanding, finishing, or scraping.

    My end goal is to make furniture of period reproductions involving wood, metal, and leather - and all of it made by myself from suppliers (although I'm not going to consider raising the cows myself).

Contact Methods

  • Twitter
    @Quercetum42

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

jHop's Achievements

Master Poster

Master Poster (3/3)

99

Reputation

2

Community Answers

About Me

What to say? I'm round, pink, mostly water, occasionally hot air, more often gas, once in a while covered in sawdust, and disappointed in how infrequent those times are. I'm trying to pinch pennies, make silver magically appear from kid's ears (especially my kids, so I don't have to pay allowance to them), and involved in the rat race. (Marginally, anyway.) I think I can write and talk, I'd like to believe I could succeed one day, and I'd love to dare to dream that my dreams will come true. (Cue Disney music.)

*sound of record needle scratching*

Now that the comedy portion of the show is over...

 

Recently, I've graduated with an Associates of
Business in Small Business Management from Cuyahoga Community College.  While I was there, I was the Editor for the student newspaper (The Voice) at the West Campus.  While I'm not a journalist, I have learned to appreciate the art behind writing.  In addition, I started writing for Yahoo! Voices; my content can be found here: http://contributor.yahoo.com/user/1644450/jeremy_hopkins.html.  (Full disclosure: I do get paid per click.)  I also am in the process of building my own blog site for entry-level woodworking at www.fiveminutewoodworker.wordpress.com, where I hope to eventually post more video and project builds.  As the title implies, I'm focusing on quick projects.  I'm going to be using this as a springboard to create my small furniture shop, where I will be working on reproduction pieces.  (More later.)

 

Married, two step-sons that I consider my own, been bitten by the woodworking bug for far too long to count, still (barely) in my thirties, haven't successfully made and finished anything except fire starters, have a few projects going (as with most woodworking individuals), and have a few hobbies. My interests include blacksmithing, leatherworking, and woodworking. The idea was that I would be able to make all the aspects of the recreation furniture I wanted. The problem is I'm getting farther ahead of my skill set...

While I'm interested in most types of music, I prefer Dance, Electronic, Techno, and Chill/Ambient.  I've also been known to really appreciate classical. The irony is I'm listening to music composed on material I'm working with.

I read frequently, but not constantly. Some of my favorite authors include Jim Butcher (the "Dresden Files" / "Semi-automatic Magic" series), Isaac Asimov, and Douglas Adams.

 

The next project is always just around the corner.  The hard part is remembering to finish and finish the previous one(s).