How to finish pine for outdoor use

blobula

Hello,

I'm new to woodworking and had a question about the best steps I can follow to finish a pine table for outdoor use.

I know now after reading different forums that Pine was a very poor wood choice for outdoor use, however, I'm now a little smarter for future projects. Having said that I built a picnic table and chair that will go on my deck and was wondering what the best way to finish and seal it would be?  Is there a way to stain and seal it keeping the grain of the wood visible, or is is best to just prime and paint it? I live in an environment that sees all 4 seasons consistently.

What products would you suggest for either of those two options?

Thank you!

General Finishes Exterior 450 http://www.generalfinishes.com/professional-products/water-base-exterior-finishes/exterior-450-outdoor-finish#.UWp1BLXCbTo is a superb product and is designed for outdoor environments. It has UV inhibitors and is slightly amber in hue.

You can brush, wipe or spray it on and it is waterbased.

I have never had much like with outdoor wood finish. In the future, I am planning on using "outdoor" wood like cedar, white oak, and teak (if I can afford it) -and skipping the finish. Interesting enough, there is an article in the new FWW magazine on outdoor furniture this month.

Opaque and semi-transparent deck and siding stains can also help pine last outside.  If you can find it, the _oil based_ version of Olympic Maximum is also very, very good!  The water based version of the same stuff is awful.

With pine, I'd probably avoid film finishes, as the wood may check or crack a lot faster than a good outdoor wood.  Once a crack opens, films are often toast, and they're a bear to repair.  Most penetrating oils or stains are easy to add more, if the wood creates more exposed surfaces.

As a few others have mentioned, give the end grain surfaces as much as they can drink.