Digital needs for woodworkers

Hi, 

I am a student from the University of Pennsylvania and want to understand how woodworkers are currently using technology in their creation process.This can range from looking at videos tips on thewoodwhisperer.com, to 3D design using software such as sketchup. 

Are there other ideas / solutions for you as woodworkers would like to see. If not ideas just knowing what some of the key frustrations are during woodworking projects would be helpful.

This is for research for my innovation class

I rely on sketch-up for nearly all of my projects.  I don't have any CNC machines in my shop, as I want to do everything by hand.   I do keep a computer permanently in the shop that gets used quite a bit during a project.

I don't normally advertise my blog in a forum post beyond my signature, but I think this series I wrote earlier this year would help you with your research.

http://sawdustnewbie.com/category/articles/technology-in-the-shop/?order=ASC

• Like 1

sketchup!!!

Youtube and Google searches

Online instruction such as The Wood Whisperer, The Wood Whisperer Guild, The New Yankee Workshop

WoodTalkOnline

Shopping sites such as Amazon and Rockler (for purchases and also for ideas)

Marc also offers one-on-one consulting for Guild/Superfan members via email, phone, and skype

CadStd for drawings. Google for design ideas, examples of dimensions for similar products etc...various online stores for tools, equipment...magnetic digital protractor to set saw blade angles :-) various woodworking forums. Spreadsheet to estimate material costs, although now using iphone app: soulver. Journal app to track projects and make notes for future reference.