Is landscaping timber ok for small fence posts? Newbie here :-)

Hey guys and gals.  Im Michael and I just signed up.  Im looking forward to meeting and learning as much as possible.

But just like the question states, can I use it?  I want to build a small (country / barn look) fence around my new shed I just built to keep my dogs out.  They're not jumpers.  Just a wooden fence about 3' high or a little less.  And the timbers in question would give me that rustic country look.  Thx for any feed back. 

This really depends on the timbers and the life you expect to get out of the fence. Landscape timbers can come with a couple different types of treatment for rot resistance. Some are rated for below ground use and some are only rated for above ground. If you want your fence to last as long as possible, you will want posts that are rated to go below grade. The rest of the fence can be just about any kind of landscape timber you find.

Around here, what they sell for landscape timbers are all the same.  They aren't treated anywhere nearly as good as posts treated for "ground contact".  I learned that the hard way.  We have a horse farm, and when we first started it, I built a fence using landscape timbers.  It turned out to be a temporary fence.  That was back when treated lumber was treated with more toxic stuff than they use these days, and termites were in the posts, or most simply rotted away, in three or four years.

I built some cavelletti out of them for the cross poles, and 2x4s for the X's, probably 20 years ago, and they are all still good because the pole (landscape timber) has never contacted the ground.