Bench Planer Injury

dmcgarry

WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!: i have attached images of the injury to this post incase you dont want to see them they should appear at the bottom of this post.

I'm a relatively new woodworker, i started woodturning nearly 2 years ago and over those 2 years i have gone from making the odd present for someone to producing custom pieces for customers...

Last year i got a surface planer... a fox F22 563, some info on it can be found here:

http://www.sitebox.ltd.uk/fox-f22-563-surface-planerjointer-6-240-volt-only-oFOX_F22563

F22-563new.jpg

And last tuesday 15th October 2013 i had my first serious woodworking related injury. I've always been a bit of a safetly freak around certain equipment and this was one of them, i never buy a machine till i first google accidents with them to see what i could be getting myself in for and this machine was no different before i started using it.

I've always said if i was ever going to have an accident it would be with this machine, maybe fear of it was part of how the accident happened i don't know... but in short i never used this machine without pushblocks/the guard and being well positioned at the machine, the wood i was using was sycammore and i had just planed enough of it for the front of the board to reach the bed after the blade where it got caught, i remember watching many videos stating never to try force it through so i didn't.

a few seconds had passed and the blade was still spinning under the wood to i slowly took my right hand to reach the stop button and just as i was doing this the blades caught the wood and sent it flying along with the safety guard of the machine towards the end of my workshop, the next thing to make contact was the push block which also decided to join the safety guard and the board at the other end of the workshop which left nothing between the blades and my fingers so in went my middle finger.