making wood flat

bobbyb619

I am new to wood working a need some advice. I know how to make the edges straight on my wood, but how do I get my wood flat without it bowing or cuping? It seems that no matter how picky I am when I pick out the lumber it is cupped or bowed in some way when I am building. Do I have to plane it? If yes, won't I get varing thicknesses in my projects? Thanks for any advice!

I am new to wood working a need some advice. I know how to make the edges straight on my wood, but how do I get my wood flat without it bowing or cuping? It seems that no matter how picky I am when I pick out the lumber it is cupped or bowed in some way when I am building. Do I have to plane it? If yes, won't I get varing thicknesses in my projects? Thanks for any advice!

Hi bobby! Welcome to woodworking.

Almost every piece of lumber you will buy will be distorted in some way. Typically you go through a process known as milling lumber or milling a board.

This is usually done on a jointer for the first 2 faces, then on a surface planer for the 3rd face and finally on a table saw to finish the final side.

You typically purchase lumber bigger than the thickness you want and plane it down to size.

Marc has an excellent video on the subject. I believe it is called the Jointer's Jumpin.

Good Luck!

Hi bobby! Welcome to woodworking.

Almost every piece of lumber you will buy will be distorted in some way. Typically you go through a process known as milling lumber or milling a board.

This is usually done on a jointer for the first 2 faces, then on a surface planer for the 3rd face and finally on a table saw to finish the final side.

You typically purchase lumber bigger than the thickness you want and plane it down to size.

Marc has an excellent video on the subject. I believe it is called the Jointer's Jumpin.

Good Luck!

Marc's video is definitely a good place to start. Here's the link:

http://thewoodwhisperer.com/episode-6-the-jointers-jumpin/

bobby,