Earlex HV5500 Spray Station

rodger.

***pics to be added***

I have owned this unit for over a year, and have sprayed about 12 quarts of finish with it. I thought that this would be a good time to post a review, as I have had some time and experience with the machine.

First, let me say that I was attracted to this mahine for 2 principal reasons. First, Marc gave it a great review and I trust his opinion. Secondly, the price is so darn good! I got it for 279.99 CDN. I needed another needle set (an additional 50 dollars), and I was ready to go.

Originally, I was set on buying a Fuji Mini Mite 4, which comes it at about 3 times the cost of the Earlex (well at least here in Canada. The Fuji includes the turbine, siphon cub, 25 foot hose, and whip hose).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What comes in the box?

The package came with the turbine, a teflon coated 1 quart cup, spray gun assembly, a 13' foot hose, hose clip, 2.0 needle set, a small tool kit (viscosity cup, cleaning brush, specialized wrench), and an insructuonal DVD.

The first thing I did when I opened the box was to check that all the parts were included. I instantly changed out the 2.0 needle for a 1.5 needle. My primary purpose for buying this machine was to spray water borne polyurethane topcoats. The manufacturer recommended using a 1.5 needle for my intended purpose. I tried to persuade the salesman to throw one in (or at least trade me for the 2.0), but he wouldnt go for it. Ah well.

Changing the needle set also helped familarize me with the gun.

Instructional DVD

The DVD is pretty informative. The presenter goes through typical scenarios using the system (spraying dyes, topcoats, paint, how to clean the gun, etc). It's definately worth a watch. I was surprised however that presenter did not wear a respirator at all during the DVD.