Period furniture: where to start?

I'm relatively new to woodworking (only a dozen or so projects under my belt), and one of the things I'd like to find out more about and try my hand at making is period furniture. To that end, I have two questions, which are hopefully similar enough to warrant only one post instead of two:

1) What are some good resources, either online or in print, for getting to know the various styles in the history of American and European furniture? I can find plenty of things on the individual styles themselves, but I'm looking for more of a survey that addresses the various periods and the hallmarks and characteristics of each one.

2) What are some good beginner's projects and/or exercises in period furniture? I know things like Shaker tables and other pieces with mainly straight lines are often suggested for beginners, but I'm not sure where to go from there to learn some of the more complex techniques.

Thanks for your help!

This book has been around for a while, been through a few editions and is a favorite among period furniture makers:

http://www.amazon.com/New-Fine-Points-Furniture-Masterpiece/dp/051758820X/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1421459652&sr=8-2-fkmr1&keywords=period+furniture+albert+sack

Resources will vary depending on how faithful you are to an original... what tools you plan to use.    

SAPFM is a fantastic resource.

http://www.sapfm.org/

The group has chapters that hold meetings and learning opportunities in many parts of the country, is very friendly to newer folks, and pretty much anyone you've ever heard of related to period stuff is a member.  The website offers forums to members, and they publish several very informative items annually.  I'm a member of the quarterly eNewsletter team.

PM me an email address, and I'd be happy to share the latest eNewsletter issue PDF.