Metric

trz

I sometimes use the metric system for work when a client requires it or I am doing work on a project that is outside of the USA.

For woodworking I have never used the metric system.

Having used both, I would switch over to the metric system if everybody else would but I am fairly confident that this will never happen in my lifetime.

just saying that none of these metric using countries have made it to the moon. :lol:

that said i tend to use both systems for various things. when i was an engineer i would use primarily english, but not always, and now that i am a doctor, i tend to use metric, mostly for dosing meds, measuring small moles.....  then to top it off i will describe the size of things in relation to common objects, that mole is about the size of a dime,  that cyst the size of an egg...

I turn in metric, because I learned from Australian authors, but when everything I work with is board feet of x/4 material, it would be silly even to try metric.

I was in school during the transition.  To this day, I use Celsius for most of the school year, but when it is warm I switch to Fahrenheit.

Sometimes when I need more accuracy I run an entire job in metric. It forces you to work to a smaller scale. Probably takes me 15 minutes to swap the scale on my crosscut table and zero it out. Grab metric tapes and the Wixey scale on my tablesaw fence just have to push a button.

A client recently had a full set of plans that were all in Millimeters with exact sizes for every part. And we were building it from Baltic Birch which is metric size and thickness.

• Like 1