What is an acceptable woodworking tolerance?

robdurante

I'm a serious hobbyist, but my profession is a Scientist.  I design an build my own furniture.  I often wonder what is a good tolerance to take my final part size to.  

I typically machine mill flat and square, then rough size the parts.  After stickering, and adjusting the part flat and square again, and perhaps doing the centered M&T, I will hand plane down to the finished size.  One can get each board exact if needed, but is is really needed?  I typically plane to +/- 0.010 inches (mostly + 0.010).  I wonder what others do.  I find this a pretty good tolerance to do final smoothing after assembly to match up the pieces well.

Can other share their thoughts on tolerance?

I'm a scientist, too, and I use my woodworking hobby to get away from that sort of measuring.  If my fingers and eyes can't tell the difference between two pieces, then it is good enough.  If they can, a few swipes of a plane or scraper changes that.  Like Mike said, if it is a one off piece then all that matters is that pieces that need to be the same are the same, whether they're 12.5" or 12.75" long doesn't matter much.

• Like 1

I don't know that I would be happy with relative dimensioning thing and being off by much, to OCD for that. I do think some take all the marking and dimensioning a little to far. I watched a WW TV show this last Saturday and the guy marked out all his mortises nice and pretty then went to the HCM to cut them all out using the fence. Makes no sense to me what so ever. Adjust the machine and they are going to be what ever you set the machine to all those markings and using a pretty little marking gauge isn't going to change a thing. I think sometimes you just need to use some common sense.