Chest of drawers for (impending) son

bgreenb

My wife and I have a son coming to us at the end of April.  When we first found out she was pregnant, my mind went wild thinking of what I would build for him.  My daughter is almost three, and building a toy chest for her was what initially got me into woodworking, so that build has a special place in my heart, and I wanted to do something similar for my son.  I had initially settled on a crib, but my wife wasn't crazy about the idea (not for safety reasons, but for stylistic - she has very strict ideas of what a crib should look like apparently), and I kind of came around to the fact that I wanted something that would be in his room for all of his childhood (and eventually in his adult home), rather than a crib that would be in his room for a couple years and then in our attic.  We didn't have a dresser for him yet, and I have never done a case piece before, so I thought doing a chest of drawers would be a fun build and a learning experience for me.  I'm very excited about this build for all the sentimental reasons you'd expect and for all the woodworking reasons you'd expect.

Anyway, after searching online for sample chests of drawers and some discussions with the wife, I decided to build something very similar to the one featured in this FWW article:  

http://www.finewoodworking.com/woodworking-plans/article/cherry-chest-of-drawers.aspx

(subscription required for the article but you can at least see a picture of it there).