How to make a concave wooden circle?

Wabbit

Hello, I am fairly new to wood working.  For a project I need a circle of wood about half an inch thick and 28 inches across that is slightly convex.  

Not sure how to describe it otherwise, but it would need an even rise from the edge to the center that would put the center about 1 1/2 inches higher.

If it matters, there will be a hole in the center, about 6 inches across.

I'm not particular on the kind of wood, it will be painted, but something light and strong would be preferred and I need it to hold it's shape in the end.
Does anyone know how to do this?
Thanks!

Curved pair of guides for a router. Like a flattening jig but arched up. After each pass you rotate the blank disc slightly. The curve desired would need to be the starting point to draw the larger radius for the curved guides, allow for the bit to stick down and the guides strong enough to not flex in use.

Wow, you obviously know what you are doing, but I don't understand much of that.  Are you saying it would basically be carved out of a thicker piece?

I am very much a novice.  I impressed myself with the tree house I built for my kids.  I thought it might be something along the lines of using steam and pressure to slowly bend the circle down, but not the case?

And how did this site get that picture of me?

Didn't you upload a picture ?

So you would need to glue up a blank thick enough and possibly square, then cut it into a circle. Mount the circle to a base board (3/4 sheet should work) with a screw in the center. The curved rails would mount to the same base.

There is always paper mâché .......

I did not upload a picture.  I used this picture in one other place, a Harley Davidson site.  I wonder if they are connected?

Curved rails?
Paper mache wouldn't be historically accurate, and not strong enough. I wonder how they made concave wooden shields in ancient Greece and medieval Europe?