Home made tools

Good morning all.

I am new to the serious aspect of wood working.  I have put furniture together, made temporary plywood walls, and put up shelves but nothing made completely by hand.  Since I am not home to be able to actually work on anything, I have been watching a lot of YouTube videos and reading everything I can find.  I have noticed all the great advice on this page and thought I would throw a question out there for the more experienced.  In a group of these videos, they show how to make your own major tools.  They used a regular circular saw with a Formica counter top and created his own saw table, which he claims cuts just as good as any $400-$500 saw table.  Another tools I saw were a band saw, two different types of lathes, a router table, a jointer (made from an old planer), and even one called a pantorouter (I had never even heard of this one before).

I know everyone here advices to keep a sharp eye out for the decent used tools to start, but I was wondering if it was necessary.  If by following the building designs of these DIY homemade tools, couldn't you just as easily learn the finer points of woodworking while simultaneously practicing and getting the tools you will need in the future?  If the tools are made by me, I would know how they operate better and the knowledge that I could fix them if need be.  As a beginner and not looking into this as a full time profession and more along the lines of around the house to start with, wouldn't this be a good way to start?  Would tools like this get the job done just as well as the store bought tools?  Or is the quality and precision in the work that important to skip the homemade tools?

Thanks for any input.

Well, free advice is usually worth what you pay for it so