comission work rant

rodger.

So, like many of the members of this forum, I am an enthusiastic hobbyist that takes on a few commissions a year to pad the wood working fund.  Mostly when doing custom work, I do smaller projects like framing artwork, cutting boards, the occasional coffee table or small cabinet.  I just finished a kids dress up wardrobe cabinet, and got it out of my shop yesterday.

Anyway, a friend of a friend approached me about a dining table - a big one.  I was honest, and told her that the price would be much higher than her local IKEA or mass produced furniture store.  She said "no problem".

So after educating her on typical dining table sizes, and design elements, I offered to make her a sketch in sketch up (which I did).  After further communication (and more models), she wanted to add a bench to the table commission (matching).  She was unsure of color, so I made her a test board and stained/dyed it 5 different colors in a palette she liked.  In the end we agreed on a design, finish, and size that was reasonable - I was set to buy the lumber.  I contacted her for the final okay before buying materials.  At this point I was about 2.5 hours into the build without ever touching a board.

Now, she texts me and bails on the whole idea.

No offer to compensate me for my time, or even say "sorry, how about I buy you lunch or a case of beer?"  Just, "not ready to start this project...blah blah blah".

To be fair, I could have explained that consultation would have a nominal charge, but to be honest, I wasn't going to charge for it (seeing as she is a friend of a friend), but its the principal.  A bottle of wine, 12 pack of beer, or Tim's card would have been a nice gesture for utilizing a significant portion of my time.

Am I being unreasonable here?

Edited by Pug

Fairly common, unfortunately. Lots of people get a case of cold feet when it comes to the commitment phase.