Which Mag?

Lee Bussy

I am kind of going to through the same thing Lee.  I got a free subscription to Woodcraft Mag... Meh.  I started a subscription to Popular Woodworking and just put in for a subscription to Fine Woodworking thanks to a coupon from Trip.  Only one will end up surviving after a year's viewing.

If you are primarily a machine tool person with a little handtooling then Fine Woodworking.

If vice versa then Popular Woodworking but as Mike says is low on content at the moment. Hopefully it will improve.

I have both and also a UK based subscription to Furniture and Cabinet Maker.

If there could be only one... I wouldn’t subscribe at all... I’d take the $$ and get the FWW DVD Archive... I believe it’s available at Highland for around $70US.

The DVD is every mag from 1975 through 2015 with a searchable database of articles... So if I’m making a Federal Period piece with hand-hammered drawer facings, cock beading and inlay (typical for the period). I’ll search the DVD archive for “Federal Period, hand-hammered veneer, cock beading” and find articles from 1979 and 2006 – perfect...

The other point is there are no new articles... In the last few months, I’ve taken to reading every mag from issue number one forward (I’m at issue 12) to see what I missed the first go around... It struck me immediately that FWW is recycling old content with snazzier layout and photos... I'm not sure it makes sense to subscribe at all... But you do get exposure to new tools... So that's something... And MikeP does a good job on the photos/drawings/sketches/artwork...

@David, bwahaha 

+1 for FWW.  Yeah, they do recycle projects, often bringing them forward for newer tools.  I like their tips as well.  It has to be hard coming up with something that has never been done before. Their tool reviews are worthwhile. Frankly, I like the ads as well.  Let's me see what's out there.

That said, the archive suggestion is a good one.

2 hours ago, RichardA said:

Playboy!