Beginner Needing Advice

Hi Guys,

Like many, I've had an interest in woodworking for quite some time, but I did not think about getting into the hobby until I saw a few videos on line of people making cutting boards.  I've been pricing out a few new cutting boards and the idea of being able to make my own fascinate me.  My favorite how-to video is the one done by the Wood Whisperer.  So, I would like to try my hand at making one.  I have very little experience, but I don't mind diving in and seeing what happens.  I currently have a 12'' Dewalt chop saw and a 10'' table saw (not a great table saw. It is a portable Ridgid I bought off of Craig's list a few years ago.  It probably needs a new blade.)

So, my first question is what other tools do I need to begin a project like this?  I know I will need some sort of plane but right now I'm not willing to drop the cash for a power one.  My head is spinning a little with all of the different types of planes.  From watching the video, I will also need an orbital sander and a few scrapers.  Any advice on what to buy and where would be most appreciated.

My next question is about a work table.  Right now I don't have one.  I've found some nice DIY table plans online, but I'm hesitant to start a large project like that without a little more experience.  I did find this table on Amazon that looked promising.  "Windsor Design Workbench with 4 Drawers" What do you think?

Thanks for taking the time to read my thread.

-phil

I got into woodworking the exact same way you are now. You will need some clamps, at least 3 and 5 would be better.  You will need a random orbit sander, some sandpaper of different grades, and some tightbond 3 wood glue. And that's it. If you want you can also but a number 4 or 5 plane but it's not necessary.  If you like making the cutting board you can always but more advanced tooling down the road. Welcome aboard!