"using designs"... theft or motivation?

2 minutes ago, Mike. said:

Sure its a nice thing to do but even if the guy says "no", if you are building for your own use with no intent of selling it you have nothing to worry about.    

I am going to stay out of this convo because 1) I am going through a couple legal battles of my own right now I am sick of lawyers and 2) I can promise you no one on this board is an IP attorney, so anything legal sounding is total conjecture.   But at most this would be a civil, not criminal, offense so its not like the cops are going to come knocking. 

Not a lawyer at all but I'm a professional human.  If someone asked me,  I think I'd be pretty honored. Goodwill begets goodwill.

1 minute ago, Mike. said:

Sure its a nice thing to do but even if the guy says "no", if you are building for your own use with no intent of selling it you have nothing to worry about.    

I am going to stay out of this convo because 1) I am going through a couple legal battles of my own right now I am sick of lawyers and 2) I can promise you no one on this board is an IP attorney, so anything legal sounding is total conjecture.   But at most this would be a civil, not criminal, offense so its not like the cops are going to come knocking. 

My condolences on having to speak with lawyers on a frequent basis.

It depends on the nature of borrowed and if the design was covered under a filed copyright. Odds are in furniture you're going to be borrowing someone's design one way or another. The whole freedom of speech can go a long way if you just call it art they won't have too much of a leg to stand on.