Glass Panel Doors for Entertainment Center

rkrueger

I'm about to start building a plywood entertainment center that is very similar to the one that Marc has shown on the free site. But instead of an 1/8" sliding panel door, I want to do hinged doors. At first I was just going to do solid wood/plywood doors with no embellishments as we're keeping it a more modern look. But now I think I want to do glass panel doors. I have never built a cabinet door before, but I see there are some router bits specially made for making glass door panel frames.

Now I do not yet have a router table. It's on a very long list of projects yet to be built. Is it possible to use these w/o router table? If that is not possible, are there any recommendations on how to build such a door with one?

With out a router table I am not sure use those bits.  Each one has two cutting blades and if you tip the router in just the slightest way one part of the bit is going to grab more then the other and you are going to end up having a really bad day.

On the table saw one of the easiest would be a half lap, if you have a tenoning jig you could do a bridle joint. 

3 hours ago, rkrueger said:

I'm about to start building a plywood entertainment center that is very similar to the one that Marc has shown on the free site. But instead of an 1/8" sliding panel door, I want to do hinged doors. At first I was just going to do solid wood/plywood doors with no embellishments as we're keeping it a more modern look. But now I think I want to do glass panel doors. I have never built a cabinet door before, but I see there are some router bits specially made for making glass door panel frames.

Now I do not yet have a router table. It's on a very long list of projects yet to be built. Is it possible to use these w/o router table? If that is not possible, are there any recommendations on how to build such a door with one?