I'm a believer - clean your blades and bits

bbarry9999

Hello all 

I've been woodworking for a couple of years (mainly as a winter hobby) and doing small beginner projects.  I have to admit I haven't taken great care of my blades and bits, and as they "wear out" I just bought new ones - generally from the big box store, and in the case of Table saw blades I've migrated to their version of higher end blades to get a longer life.   This year my builds are progressing and getting more complicated and I'm stretching to build/test my skills and learn new techniques.

I recently purchased a bottle of Trend spray on tool and bit cleaner from woodwerks ((I live within a couple of miles of both a Woodcrafters and Woodwerks store).  WOW, what a difference.  My blades are like new.  I now have a stack of clean blades (formally paper weights) that cut fantastic.  The same for my router and drill bits.  I guess I always knew I should clean the blades, but wasn't convinced how much of an impact it would have.  

What at do you use to clean your blades?  I'm really happy with the trend cleaner but curious what others are using.  Also what type/brand of blades do you recommend for a fairly new but progressing wood worker.  

For all you other newbies out there - clean your blades.  You won't regret it!

BB

Welcome to better cuts and longer blade life.  It takes so little time I do not understand folks who slap a WWII on their saw and run it till its time to sharpen.  I have no science to back it up but, would bet you could nearly double the time between sharpening with regular cleaning.  I have a round plastic tray and some Yellow L.A. Awesome picked up at the dollar store years ago.  Set the blade in the tray, give it a couple of squirts and let it set a minute or two.