Ripping 2x12x8' in half - best procedure?

Hey everybody. I joined the guild about a month or so ago. I've just recently outfitted my shop and got my table saw tuned up. I'm in the process of making the Ruobo workbench ala Schwarz for lack of having any flat level work surface.

I need to rip a number of 2x12x8' SYP boards either on the table saw or using my circular saw (no bandsaw or jigsaw available). I do not have an outfeed table on my TS but I do have two roller supports. My plan is to joint one edge with a router and then rip each board down the center. I'm hoping for some recommendations on 1) use of either circular or table saw and 2) if TS, then how should I handle the fence setup for maximum safety and a true cut. I've think I've heard that you shouldn't (if possible) have the board butting up to the fence when moving across the blade. I'm a table saw newbie and need some advice on this procedure. Thanks in advance.

If you are ripping the 2x12 down the center to make (2) 2x6 boards, use the rip fence and roller supports.

If you are cross cutting the 8' 2x12 in half to make (2) 4' 2x12, then use the circular saw (or miter saw).

The thing about not having the board butting up against the fence goes like this:

• Always support the longest dimension of the piece against a fence, miter gauge, sled, etc.
  • Always allow one part to fall away from the blade (if you are making a through cut so you end up with two parts)

So, if you are ripping, keep the long side of the board against the fence.

This is making me nervous. If you are asking questions like this, I think you should watch some table saw safety videos and read up some more before using the saw. Check out this post.

• Like 1