Fishtail Chisels - Buy 'em or not?

snichols

I'm new to dovetailing (i.e. I've never done it). I'm looking to do it on my next project. I'm making a chest of drawers so the ones I'm making will be half blind. I was perusing the LN website and saw the fishtail chisels and a youtube click about them.

So, Galoots, should I buy one or put my $75 toward something else?

All opinions are welcome.

-Shawn

I'm new to dovetailing (i.e. I've never done it). I'm looking to do it on my next project. I'm making a chest of drawers so the ones I'm making will be half blind. I was perusing the LN website and saw the fishtail chisels and a youtube click about them.

So, Galoots, should I buy one or put my $75 toward something else?

All opinions are welcome.

-Shawn

People have been dovetailing for 3000 years without any $75 chisels. A skew chisel will do the same, and you can grind them out of any $10 chisel. You are going to find out that a lot of that stuff you buy with the greatest sales pitch will get used about twice and then get lost in the bottom of your drawers.

I think the fishtails look pretty :)

Skew chisels like Stemberg said are the bomb in utility. Love mine since I got them. In a way, a fishtail is a double-skew. If you made a lot of half-blind (also called lapped) dovetails, they might be more convenient (again, double skew all in one tool) but for through-dovetails, regular chisels work great.

I've tried Fishtail chisels, and really didn't like them. Because Fishtail chisels are straight across like "regular" chisels, you really can't get back in that corner like you would think. I agree Skew chisels are much more useful and cheaper. The skewed tip really lets you "poke" back in that corner, much more effectively.

Mike

I agree that a pair of dedicated left and right skew chisels is better than having a single fishtail chisel, even though the fishtail chisel looks cool.