Best wood to work with?

Rwham

What is the best type of wood to work with? I know it's a broad question but I'm new in all this and I'm scrolling through the forums and I just see all different types of wood being talked about. Also where do you guys purchase different types of wood?

The best wood to work with is true Honduras Mahogany. Hard to get these days and quite pricey but an absolute joy to use. Rich colors and grain and well behaved usually.. African Mahogany ( Kyaha )  or Sapele are nice too and more avalible & affordable but not always as well behaved. I think you should build your skills using more common domestic woods. Cherry is a real nice domestic wood. It all depends on the project, your personal tastes, skills and budget. 

• Like 2

White/red oak and soft maple have been really good go-to's for me. They are easy to source locally, are cheap, and are over all just nice to work with at this point. Hand planing and working the oak can teach you alot about reading grain and finding out how easy tear out occurs.

I would suggest avoiding Woodcrafters or Rockler for buying your wood unless you need small blanks or exotic woods. They both have a serious up charge that you shouldn't have when buying it from a mill or lumber dealer. The guys on Woodtalk suggested looking for "sawmill" or "lumber" on Craigslist in this week's podcast.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

5 hours ago, wtnhighlander said:

Locating good lumber can be a challenge, depending on your location. There are good online retailers,but shipping is a killer. Give us your general location, maybe someine nearby can hook you up with a source.