laminating white oak onto mdf

Hello,

I am looking to laminate 3/8”thick x 3”wide, solid white oak planks to ½” mdf substrate to create wall paneling for a kitchen – I’ll be using a vacuum press with a urea type plastic resin veneer glue.  I also need to laminate the same stock to different thickness mdf substrates to make some full length doors and side panels for same kitchen.  I have been looking around in the web and some say this will not work do to the expansion of the solid wood and will only warp and crack in the long run, others say it is okay to do this.  I am new to laminating and vacuum pressing.  What say you in regards to this issue?

Also, if it is okay to do this laminating is some sort of backer sheet needed to the ½” mdf for balance?  I cannot go beyond the 7/8” dimension for the final product so I thought I could use one of those backer sheets used for regular plastic laminate – again, what say you?

Thank you in advance for your thoughts and guidance in this effort. 

Patricia

Best practice would be to balance the panels with the same material on both sides of the mdf, or to use thinner stuff for the show faces for the panels that go on the wall. If it were me I would use 1/8"-3/16" pieces. Whether or not the back is needed, (or would help) depends on how the panels are attached to the wall. You question makes it sound like the finished product will appear to be 3" wide planks, not panels in a frame.

If that's the goal however, why make the panels with the mdf substrate? 3" wide, 7/8" thick pieces with a tongue on one long edge and a groove on the other sounds easier to me.

Thank you for your responses!