Beginner in Routing: First cut is a mess

drpg

I am a beginner in routing and looking to learn for some DIY home projects. I bought/setup a Craftman's router/table. It is a non-variable speed router (27000 RPM). I tried two practice cuts using a 1/4'' Craftsman Roman Oagee bit.

I'm attaching some pictures that show the setup. In the first cut, the test block got burned (picture not attached). This was most likely because I fed the stock too slowly. For the second cut, I tried to a go slightly faster/steady, but not too fast. However, as I slid the block across, I felt a somewhat strong resistance when the bit first came in touch with wood. I was not able to slide it past the bit, and felt like it got 'stuck' in the bit. I was not able to keep the board parallel against fence (given the resistance) any longer, and hence, I shut the router down (felt like I was going to lose control of the board). My feed direction is right to left on the router table.

By looking at the pictures, what did I do wrong? Is the bit positioned too high? I made sure that the bearing and the fence are aligned. Should the fence extensions be tighter/closer to the bit?

1. I am going to get a push stick/block to hopefully provide more force to keep the board aligned to the fence at all times (and keep my fingers far away). But my thinking was that the board should have been able to 'glide' along the fence with not too much force. Maybe, I tried cutting too much material in one go?

2. I will get some more scrap material to practice on, but I would appreciate any help on why I'm messing up.

20170925_194253.jpg

20170925_194305.jpg

20170925_194314.jpg

20170925_194352.jpg

20170925_194422.jpg