Just a basic jointer question...

s1rGr1nG0

Mornin' gents!

Hey, as I've mentioned in a previous post, I'm new to the hobby. I have a basic question about using a jointer.

Looking around online I see that most of the jointers are 6 inch machines. I know there are larger ones out there but for a hobbyist or small shop the vast majority are 6 inchers. What happens if you want to work with a board that is 8 inches or even bigger like a 2x12? 

Is it possible to run it through then rotate it and do the other side? That doesn't seem like a good idea to me or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance guys!

The eternal question :).  My 6" jointer lasted months.  Despite many warnings that I should get an 8" I had to find out for myself that the things I made often required milling material wider than 6".  A lot of people do fine with a 6" jointer and either rip material to widths of 6" or less, mill them and glue them back together, use a planer sled or some other method for wider stock.

The resounding answer to so many seemingly simple questions is "it depends".  For me most things I needed to mill were wider than 6" but, only occasionally wider than 8" (just recently as a matter of fact as shown here).  I had a similar problem on my tablesaw; a 30" rip was inadequate for most things but, a 40" rip was fine for most things.  This was me, your needs will be different.

If you build solid wood furniture you will probably glue up panels for table tops, shelves, floating panels and so forth.  You can certainly make these panels out of four 6" boards instead of 3 8" boards.  There is also the type of materials you will use, cost, space and other factors that will enter into your decision.