Not a real slider.

Llama

10 hours ago, Llama said:

Used it a bunch today. Love this thing!

No plans on selling my tracksaw though :) 

Now imagine the wonders of a true slider:P. I want to use my machine for awhile before commenting on it, but i recently did some sheet stock work a few weeks ago. It blew my freaking mind how fast and perfect my work was. I cant imagine making cabinets for a living and then buying a slider. I assume you just experienced the same wonder.

How is it truing up the stroke on these bolt-ons? It is one thing to have the cross cut fence square to the blade, but if your stroke is wonky then that doesnt count for much. Calibrating the sliding table and carriage is quite the experience, let me tell you. Id rather do 15 DT ways jointers instead of one slider. 

I might spend a few hours to the better part of the day fine tuning my Excalibur every year or 2. Once you get the sliding rail  (outer one) parallel to the saw it stays there unless someone really whacks an end hard. The fence on the sliding table used to take up to an hour or more before I got my Woodpeckers framing square. Now it's 15 min or less.

I just took a sheet of MDF with a known straight edge. Put that on the fence, then got it close by eye, and moved the fence adjustment until I got a square cut. 

I'll order the big WP square, or something similar to get it 100% perfect. I bet I'm 99.9% there right now though... 

26 minutes ago, Llama said:

I just took a sheet of MDF with a known straight edge. Put that on the fence, then got it close by eye, and moved the fence adjustment until I got a square cut. 

I'll order the big WP square, or something similar to get it 100% perfect. I bet I'm 99.9% there right now though...