How long to leave joints before gluing.

Hello, folks,

I have a quick question concerning joints and how long you can leave them "dry" before gluing. I have started working on a king size bed frame made of black cherry and am trying to save some time. My workshop (garage) is not heated and seeing as Minnesota weather is still in the 30s at night, I cannot do any gluing. I have thought about doing all the joint work and then putting everything together with no glue while its cold, then glue it all up once the weather gets warmer. My worry is that the wood and joints will change as the weather warms and my work will be wasted. As you can tell, I am very new to jointing in general as most of my experience is with framing and general construction. Would appreciate any advice you can give me! Thanks!

You could try using epoxy as it cures due to chemical reaction rather than evaporation as PVA glues do. Also glues like Titebond do have temperature limits for curing. Their website gives the technical details and I think it is a minimum of 50 degrees for Titebond Original and 45 degrees for Titebond III. 

West Systems 205 quick hardener cures down to 41 Fahrenheit. So if you can get the air temperature in the shop up to this it might work for you. I sometimes have put the 105 can into a bowl of warm water to make it less viscous when the temperature has been low.

• Thanks 1