OTT - Precision Framing Square

I ordered the 26" framing square from woodpecker tools earlier this year. I was expecting to pay more than the receipt says because of the exchange rate conversion, but what I wasn't expecting was an additional $108 in customs dues (31%) on top of that. It's going to end up costing $460. I understand it's supposed to be a great tool, but is it really *that* good? I could buy a Chappell square, and trade off the lesser features for saving almost $300.

https://www.woodpeck.com/psq2018.html

For reference, I'm a hobbyist that only occasionally works with sheet goods. 

Update: So what happened is, UPS charges a brokerage fee for clearing an item through customs. This is based on the value of the item, not weight or complexity. In this case, the brokerage fees were $70, and the rest was HST (which you would pay if you bought an item here anyway). You can avoid paying these brokerage fees in Canada by self-clearing the item through a CBSA Inland Revenue Office. Below is a website explaining how the process works, a CBSA page saying the same thing, and a page where you can lookup where the closest CBSA office is. 

Self-clearing was super easy, less time than it takes to walk across a mall parking lot. Just make sure you have the UPS invoice, photo ID, and cash/credit card. You also need to know where the package is being held. You may need to find a way to fax/scan the invoice to the appropriate UPS office that deals with customs; the one I needed was right next to CBSA, so it was done before I could even go to the depot location. 

http://trueler.com/2010/11/24/self-clear-shipment-cbsa-avoid-ups-brokerage-fee/

https://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/import/courier/lvs-efv/menu-eng.html

https://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/do-rb/menu-eng.html