Miter Saw vs. Table Saw

Hello Everyone,

As a new woodworker I notice that most woodworkers tend to use a table saw over a miter saw. Why is this? I understand the table saw is used to rip stock, etc. but to make cross cuts it seems the miter saw (or better yet a miter saw station) would be the most efficient. Just lay down your board, set your stop and your done. What am I missing?

Accuracy!  Rarely do miter saws give you 100% accuracy. A table saw with a miter or crosscut sled properly tuned, gives you way better accuracy. And it's what you need for "fine woodworking". If your just making "stuff" a miter saw will do what you need.

• Like 2

The 2 tools are not interchangable.  A cross cut sled on the Table Saw will be more accurate than a miter saw provided the sled is accurate.

I have a miter saw station with a Festool Kapex in it and still use my table saw way more than my miter station.  The table saw is typically the center of most shops.  With the right sleds and jigs, it can do anything that a miter saw can do and more.  Dados spring to mind.

Now, with that said, I do use both.  Reality is though that the miter saw gets used mostly because it's more convenient and mine does a good job for me.

There are some here that do not have a miter saw in their shop and get along just fine without it.

Welcome to the forums!

Richard is correct, it is the accuracy of most miter saws.  Having said that I have a Bosch Glide that hold its accuracy very well and I do use it for a lot of cross cuts.  I also do a fair amount of cross cuts on the table saw with the sled or miter gauge.  I think it comes do to witch miter saw you are using and does it hols a setup properly.