Herringbone style sliding barn doors

crumlett

First let me say that I'm a new member and it's good to be here. I've been woodworking for about 4 years now with random projects (bookcases, tables, benches, desks, small doo-dads for the family, etc...)

We recently moved into a new house and would like to put up some bi-parting barn doors across a 6' door opening. We like the herringbone design and I have some questions on the construction of it. 
As I understand:

• Herringbone should be veneer as the change in grain direction can cause serious long-term stability issues for lumber. 
  • Veneer sheets should be max thickness of 3/32"  to avoid seasonal wood movement issues.

Now, with that in mind, my idea is to basically make a hollow core door mostly due to weight. 

• Baltic birch plywood frame (can I use solid wood for this?)
  • Baltic birch skin
  • 3/32” walnut veneer

The flat track hardware at barndoorhardware.com can support either  1 3/8", 1 1/2", or 1 3/4" doors. So what would be better? Thicker frame and thinner skin? I can see either using 1/4" or  1/2" plywood skin.As this is my first door construction, I really don't know the pros and cons of each as it applies to doors. 

I'm kinda' looking for some confirmation of what I can piece together through various sites and videos. If anyone else has any hints or other methods, I'd love to hear it!

Thanks.