So this happened today... New SawStop.

Robert Morse

On 1/12/2019 at 12:40 AM, K Cooper said:

I’ve seen the wiener run thru on professional videos to demonstrate the safety aspects, but never by amateurs

I don't know if he's considered an 'amateur', but Steve Gass (sastop founder) did put his own hand into a saw to show that it worked.  I wont' post the link, but the video is out there.

• Like 1
  • Sad 1

On 1/11/2019 at 10:40 PM, K Cooper said:

I’ve seen the wiener run thru on professional videos to demonstrate the safety aspects, but never by amateurs.

There are quite a few youtubes of guys abusing wieners that are not pros, at least in the woodworking sense.

• Haha 2

On ‎1‎/‎11‎/‎2019 at 7:59 PM, chashint said:

I have been thinking of getting a 3hp PCS myself.

What saw have you been using ?     

I've been using a PM2000 with 30" fence. 

Regarding the test... Part of my day job is dealing with business continuity... so there's definitely a part of me that wants to do the hotdog test, just to make SURE the system is working. If you don't test it, how do you KNOW it works?  But at the same time, that's expensive (cartridge and blade...). 

I spent part of the morning yesterday getting the old saw cleaned up - vacuumed out all the dust, and scotchbrite'd the top with some WD-40 to clean things up. Then I cleaned it all off, and applied a coat of CRC 3-36, followed by paste wax.  It's about ready to list for sale. 

We had neighbors over today to make pinewood derby cars, so that was fun. 

I started assembling the ICS mobile base - it needs to be partially taken apart to modify it for the PCS saw.  I nearly stripped out one of the M8 screws trying to disassemble it, so I'm glad they sent replacements.  They were tightened down hard. But I finally got it loose, and got the base ready for the saw. I'm planning to move it down to the shop either tomorrow night, or Tuesday after work.  

12 hours ago, Robert Morse said: