attaching table top to legs

wtl

Could it get any more elementary? But I'm new to woodworking,  starting very late in life, and I've scoured the web looking for advice on my particular issue. Usually I find answers that are so obvious they make me wonder about my brain. This one though is proving to be a problem. I'm making a coffee table (my first) The top is bubinga - 48" x 18", all one piece, barely 3/4" thick after planing. The legs are going to be (I hope) 3/4" beautifully curly maple - I'm planning on doubling the width by making the legs 2 pieces. The top is very heavy, and the maple is strong, and my wife wants a shelf below the top, so I was thinking of cutting slots into the legs and sliding the shelf in and glueing it, so it could also serve as bracing. But I can't figure out a way to fasten the legs to the top - is a 3/4" top really thick enough to cut mortises into? I was trying to stay away from metal brackets, and I don't want an apron. I'm not sure even screws and brackets would work in such dense but thin wood, but if that was the only option I guess I'd use it. I don't even know if it's possible or wise to join bubinga to maple, especially long-grain to end-grain. But I've had this picture in my head of what the table looks like - simple, clean, gorgeous wood. I might even be delusional. No wonder the guys at the milling shop where I had the bubinga planed and sanded were laughing at me for starting with something like this, especially when I'm still learning how to use my tools. So far though I haven't ruined the bubinga or the maple. I'm hoping somebody here has some ideas that might work. Or at least tell me if I really am irrational. Thanks.