Pin Nailing Dovetails?

Has anyone ever done that or heard of it being done? I just discovered the shop I install for has been doing that for years.

My first question when I found that was "If your dovetail machine is that sloppy, why don't you get a better one?" They said their machine works fine. They just like to nail them also.

If you took their nail and staple guns away, they wouldn't have a clue how to build anything.

• Haha 1

1 hour ago, freedhardwoods said:

Probably. They put some quality into the face of a cabinet, but the parts that can't be seen are thrown together and then plastered with an unbelievable amount of nails and staples.

Well the cabinets in my house are put together with hot glue... At least that's what it looks like.

It's all about speed.   As long as it looks nice on the front, the customer won't know.

• Like 1

I hang cabinets for a living.

We routinely put some brad nails in the dovetails at the back of the drawers we assemble. It doesn't show and it gives more strength while the glue is drying.

On a couple of the lines we install the backs and sides are secured with hot glue and staples. It's not uncommon.

I've had to re-glue many failed dovetail kitchen drawers that worked loose and caused binding. I've also seen a lot worse in kitchens especially once you move toward the low end of the spectrum. I don't think that my kitchen's drawers are even glued.

Honestly the DT drawers are fancy and all but I'd rather have BB with a rabbit, glue and nails. It's how i make my drawers.

• Like 1

I have installed a few sets of generic box cabinets and helped assemble a few flat pack cabinets. You expect low quality and shortcuts there. Some of the flat pack dovetail joints had 1/16" - 1/8" gaps. Regular glue would be useless there.

The shop I help is supposedly a high end custom shop. You would think they would take a little more pride in there work.