Helpless

Helpless

I have a Colonial Cushman classic cherry dining room table about 50 yrs old.  I have stripped and sanded to bare wood multiple times.  I have never done this before.  That's why I'm saying MULTIPLE times.  (I want my table back in the house.) Here are my issues:.  I have nothing to experiment on but the table.  That isn't working out so well.   When I put water or mineral oil on it, it turns very yellow.  I tried staining it with General Finishes light brown water based stain and it turned very orange. I used GF pre stain conditioner before staining.   I've now done more homework about cherry and am hearing/reading I should be doing oil based to show the beauty of the wood.  I want that, but I also don't want a yellow table and am afraid based on my little experiment it will yellow??  Would really like the natural tones to come out.  Looking at GF seal a coat.  Read about danish oil. Open to all suggestions.  And I can't figure out how to add photos to this??

• 4 weeks later...

There are many ways to finish cherry. When dealing with a dining room table, you have to consider whether you want a very durable surface finish that will resist stains and solvents (like polyurethane) or something that will require renewal when it gets damaged (oil based). Oils can be a bit challenging with cherry in some cases as there can be blotching. Also consider the fact that the cherry will change color over time if it sees sunlight - generally getting darker. In my personal opinion (take that for what it is worth), I don't favor staining cherry. It's a beautiful wood that develops a lovely darkened patina over time. You state that you are looking for a more natural finish so staining seems the wrong way to go unless you are trying to get an artificially dark color or your wood is severely blotchy.