Outdoor Sideboard/Grill Table Suggestions for a Newbie

TomInNC

I would like to build a sideboard that has two trash cans in it with a butcher block top that we can wheel around the patio for extra counter space while grilling. The sideboard will generally be outside but under a roof, so it will not be exposed to rain. I am still pretty new to woodworking, so I was hoping to find plans to work off of. 

I am trying to use this project to build some skills, so I was thinking of using alternative joinery instead of the pocket screws. I would also like to use solid wood instead of the plywood. Is trying to take on solid wood casework as a novice a bad idea?

Lastly, any suggestions on the species I should use? While the sideboard would be under a roof, it will be outside in the NC weather, which means humidity swings will be pretty extreme.

Thanks for the suggestions. I like the plans you linked, but they are a bit different than what I had in mind. I had a link in my original post, but for some reason that was deleted by a mod. 

Anyway, the plan that I liked is attached as a PDF. Instead of the one pullout trash can, I was going to have 2 trash cans and no shelving. For the frames, I was thinking that I could use exactly what is in the plan but instead of the pocket holes use mortise and tenons. Where I am less sure how to proceed starts around Step 6.  I guess basically my question comes down to whether or not it would be safe to replace all of the plywood in the plan (bottoms/dividers/sides) with simple glued up panels (which I have a little experience with), or do I need something like a frame and panel that will accommodate wood movement? 

DIY Kitchen Island_2.pdf

1 hour ago, wtnhighlander said:

Glued-up panels are where I find the most need to account for wood movement. Unless all the boards are quarter-sawn, the cumulative expansion or contraction across the width can be significant, varying by species and environmental conditions.