DeWalt DW735x 13'' 2-Speed Planer

jmb

rocker seems to have a pretty good deal on one of these with a mobile stand. I have read reviews on amazon and they are kind of mixed. I have 240 volt as well as 120. should I be looking at something different? I am a beginning woodworker. cost is a factor of course but a couple of hundred bucks is not going to break the bank.

Thanks in advance for all replies.

JB

To step up to a floor-standing planer will pretty much double the price, although you may get 15" of width, vs. 13" for the Dewalt. The only bad thing I have to say about the DW735 is that it is LOUD. My shop is an insulated building, separated from the house by about 10' at the nearest corner, and the noise still drives my wife crazy, inside the house.

If you are able to obtain a 240v unit, it should be less likely to overheat during long milling sessions, as it will draw less current for the same horsepower.

It's a good unit for a home wood working shop.  Blades are easy to change and each blade has 2 cutting edges, one for now and one when its time to change.  Keep the rollers clean with menral spirits.  When its comes to Dust collection, remember that it has its own powerful fan that expells the chips.  Enjoy.

I've had one for about a year now and I only have 2 complaints with the unit.

1. It is extremely loud which is easily remedied with a set of ear buds and your favorite tunes/podcast/etc. 

2. I've had problems with the outfeed table coming out of flush with the unit.  More of an annoyance than a problem.

Other than those two issues its been a great addition to my shop. 

On 11/26/2021 at 2:14 PM, Askland09 said:

2. I've had problems with the outfeed table coming out of flush with the unit.  More of an annoyance than a problem