Adjusting Dimensions

I have a quick question about relative dimensions in a project. I am still relatively new in my woodworking adventures and trying to use some more traditional joints.  I have also followed the school of thought when constructing my projects to use relative dimensions.

The question I have though, is there a good way to adjust your M&T joints when following plans but using relative dimensions?  For example if I am building a project that calls for 3/4 inch parts and I get them all the same thickness but maybe a hair over or under 3/4 when done milling, do you adjust your joint location so it is dead in the center or do you just adjust so it is flush on the visible side.  I am not sure that makes sense but what I am struggling with is if my wood is not exactly 3/4 I cannot follow the plans exactly for the M&T location or they will not be centered in the wood based on my parts relative dimensions. 

• Like 1

If you’re attaching two pieces together of the same thickness it doesn’t matter where the mortise is, as long as it’s in the same spot in both parts. 

Also, mill up some extra pieces and test it. 

Edited by legenddc
Edited after Chestnut's correct post.
  • Thanks 1

If the material the mortise will be made into is the same thickness as the material you'll cut the tenon into. I'd just center both the mortise and tenon. If you are using a router for the mortise set your edge guide and reference both sides essentially cutting the mortise twice. One main hogging pass and the opposite side would just remove a tiny bit. Cut the tenon out by flipping the board over removing the same material from both faces equally. Tenons can be cut reference a band saw fence or with a tenoning jig on the table saw or a dado stack on the table saw. I prefer the dado stack as if you use a miter gauge you can both get a good clean square shoulder and a well fitting tenon with relatively little work.