Using Dominos for an Epoxy Waterfall Joint

TomInNC

I'm working on the waterfall table guild project, and my plan is to use dominos to reinforce the waterfall joint. Given the layout of my slab, there will be a significant amount of epoxy spanning the width of the miter that would accept the Dominos. At this point I have 2 concerns. First, how well does the Domino cut mortises in resin? Unless I only want to reinforce the far left and right side of the joint, I will likely have 4-6 dominos that are solely embedded in the resin. I have never used the Domino on resin before, so I'd appreciate any feedback on what to expect from anyone that has. My second concern regards aesthetics. The resin is tinted an opaque blue, and I am wondering if the outlines of the dominos would be visible in the waterfall joint.

So you have a front slab a rear slab and resin in between? If that's the case I'm not sure that the domino in the resin would add anything other than being a potential eyesore if you can see it through the resin. A large reason for the domino in the wood on miters is end grain is not an ideal glue surface and can suffer strength consequences as a result. Resin doesn't have the same properties and epoxy along the 2 joining surfaces of the resin would be similar to a long grain glue joint in wood. I would make sure that the resin glue surface had plenty of rough texture for the adhesive to get a good bite between the 2 surfaces and forgo any sort of reinforcement.

As far as cutting joinery in resin. There is no reason the domino won't cut a perfectly decent mortise in it. Resin acts similar to a dense tropical hardwood with minimal grain and the domino works just fine on that material. I could get deep in the weeds on mechanics of materials on why joinery in resin wouldn't be as effective as in wood but I'm sure no one wants to read about that. Just know that woodworking joinery in resin/plastic/cured epoxy will not work as well as the same joinery in wood.