First Rocking Chair

Alabama Fats

This is my first attempt at a rocker of any type, man was that a dumb plan or what? Ah well like Mama always says..

A little back story, if you please.

This chair is from one of the American Elms on my property. It was close and leaning towards the house else it would still be standing.

As with most of my wood, I took it down myself and had it milled on sight.

I left this one lay whole for 15 months before I had it milled, I hoped for more spalt than I got though.

Once milled, I put it in my kiln for 30 days and then started cobbling a chair, for 3 months.

Anyway, I made it so my Brother's and my children could rock our grandbabies.

I finished Dec 18, two weeks after my niece had her first child and she is the first to be rocked in it.

She is also the first spit up and make a poopy in it... dadgum kids today ain't got no respect.

My hope is that the chair is used by several generations and just maybe one along the line will take the hint and make something for their grandchildren.

All stock is American Elm except for the Cherry runners.

Everything was milled 8/4

All parts were from single boards, except the seat.

I used walnut plugs to cover the screws.

Finish is sanded to 320 grit and topped with 5 coats of Watco Danish Oil, Natural color.

It is darker than most of the photos show, maybe 3 or 4 shades.

I would do some things different if I do another, some days just didn't feel productive, you know?

I would say that 85- 90% of this chair was hand work. Lots and lots of rasps and files, spoke shaves, scorps, ect..

Ohh, I did read and quote from The Big Book of Cuss Words pretty often so not only did I pick more skills I expanded my vocabulary by....40 or 50%. Huzzah!

Feel free to pick at all the warts, just try not to bleed me too much Please and Thank You.

003.jpg

Mash here for the other pics.