Purchasing Wood

I am pretty new to woodworking and was hoping to get some advice from all of you out there on where you generally purchase your wood from. Local small scale lumber mills? Regional lumber supply chains? Internet suppliers? And what types of wood do you think are acceptable to buy from big box behemoths? Thanks for the help- I don't know of any local lumber mills and don't really know how to find them. (I'm located in the Hudson Valley in New York)

First, do you have the ability to mill lumber from rough stock? Typically you would need a planer and a jointer, however there are many jigs out there that can do the work of a jointer instead.

Personally, I buy from a local guy whose lumber yard is literally his back yard. He specializes in hardwoods that are rough sawn/hit-miss planed (still rough but fairly flat). If you don't have a local guy, I would look on the internet next. Two of them are http://www.bellforestproducts.com/ and http://www.crlumber.com (actually this is my local guy as well) As for the hardwood sold at big box stores..... Ever since I got my planer, I avoid them. They are about 2-3 times the cost of what I can buy rough planed, the selection is limited, and the quality is poor. About the only wood I buy is dimensional lumber from them.

I agree with Mike. My sawyer has mostly locally harvested stuff. He buys the little bit of exotic stuff from Crosscut Hardwoods in Portland. So, when I do get to Portland, that's where I shop for that, but I have a ton of beautiful domestics to choose from at his place. He's also VERY good at his job. Reads trees really well.