Are dovetails stronger than box joints / finger joints?

With modern glue, are dovetail joints any stronger than box joints? I can see that, 100 years ago with hide glues, a dovetail joint would hold a drawer or chest together much more securely than a box joint. But with modern glues I'm told that a well fitted long grain to long grain joint is as strong as the wood, so it's hard to see how a dovetail joint could be significantly stronger than a box joint.

I appreciate the aesthetics of a dovetail joint, and I certainly understand choosing a joint for aesthetics, and being true to a traditional style. But let's say I was putting together some drawers or a chest, and I wanted really strong joints, but I wanted to use box joints. Would it make sense to go with dovetails just for added strength?

I’m not experienced enough to properly answer your question. However, as I think about the two joints in question, I see that the long grain runs perpendicular to each other at the intersection of the two joints. So, they’re equal in that regard. My next thought, relative to gluing, is that they would both have multiple long grain to long grain areas of contact for the wood-glue-wood interface. The other thought is most box joints form these interfaces all the way across the width of the two joined boards, whereas dovetails don’t always repeat uniformly all the way across, so there may be less total wood-glue-wood area. Or, the tails are wide and there are fewer of them meaning fewer interfaces.

So, I’m wondering, what would be the advantage of one over the other (as your asking)? The only scenario I can come up with, is if there ever were a literal glue failure at the interface, the dovetail joint would have a mechanical advantage due to the opposing angles of the pins and tails by not easily slipping past each other. However, in my limited thinking, that seems to be a very unlikely event.