What are the best Woodworking Tools?

Gabriel07

I am just getting started into woodworking and I was wondering if anyone knew what the highest quality tools were? What are must have tools for a beginning woodworker? My major focus is furniture building. I would greatly appreciate any information you could provide me.

I think that the planes that Philip Marcou (New Zealand) makes are way up the list in quality. I have several of them.

An example:

joraft-albums-my-photos-picture2750-marcou-3.jpg

• Like 1

This is a broad question and boils down to the question: How much do you want to spend?

A $20 Groz plane will do the same job as a $200 Lie-Nielsen or a $2,000 Bresse or similar custom plane maker.

A set of cheap plastic handled chisels will do the same job as a $1,000 set of Japanese chisels.

An Irwin saw can do the same job as a Bad Axe saw.

"The Best" is highly subjective.

As far as building furniture with hand tools, you will likely need a saw (or two) for crosscuts, rips, dovetails, etc. A couple of planes. A set of chisels. Layout tools like a square, rule, marking gauge. A way to drill holes. A bunch of clamps.

If you think about the building process, you can picture the tools you'll need.

I am by no means an expert on hand-tools, but I do have some nice Japanese chisels and Lie-Nielsen planes and my recommendation to you would be to buy the best you can afford and then learn how to sharpen and hone those tools really well. You can spend thousands on a custom plane, but if you can't sharpen it, it's worthless (in my opinion).

I would recommend you order Chris Schwarz's "The Anarchists Toolchest". It goes through every tool that the author feels should be part of a well equipped hand tool shop.