Everything takes me a LONG time

Nick2cd

I feel like everything I do in woodworking takes me a long time to do. I have to think about layout, measurements, orientation of pieces, etc for a long time before I feel ready to make a cut. It just seems like I work slowly. It can be frustrating. Being a beginner, I expect that speed will come with experience? It seems like Marc can just fly through measurements and layout. Hope to eventually get there.

I agree, what's the rush? If you want to see slow, look for Matt Meiser's post on how long it took him to finish his project. (Sorry Matt!)

I feel the same way - it takes me forever to make sure that things are oriented correctly, and measured correctly....and even then I've made many contributions to my scrap pile because of mistakes. This is all part of the learning, and gaining experience. It also doesn't help that I squeeze in little bits of time between work and home/family life - the "context switching" really slows things down. There is also the "job" aspect to it - if you're doing it for a job, you almost have to get better and faster at it. I have a friend of mine that is meticulous in his work, but he'd starve if it was his full time job simply because he's amazingly slow.

As for Marc - I would not be surprised if it also took him a long time to gain confidence and to be able to move more quickly. Knowing what little I do about his background, I could see him taking a deliberate, thoughtful, almost scientific approach to his work - an approach which lends itself to repeatability (for when things go right), scrutiny (when things go wrong) and improvement to each step he takes (leading to speed and efficiency). Plus - a lot of what you see has gone through the magic of editing.....I'll let Mr. WW himself speak to how much footage ends up on the editing room floor..... :)

It seems like Marc can just fly through measurements and layout.

Ah, the magic of editing.