Starting to teach Woodworking classes...

dcustoms

Hello woodworking educators and woodworkers alike. I have been kicking around the idea of starting to teach woodworking classes. I have some experience teaching wood shop in a high school and education and training in the fire service. I am currently a pro woodworker and think it would be fun to help others learn woodworking.

I am just wondering what you all think and what thoughts come to mind...

I have a well equipped shop, lots of insurance and a liability waver drafted by my attorney for both adult and minor students.

My plan is to teach one on one classes that are student directed, project or skill driven.

Thank you for your thoughts!

A little different topic of teaching but, I was a trainer in the military and also taught First responder, combat lifesaving and CPR, Interspiro SCBA maintenance and service both in and out of the military and it is sort of emotionally fulfilling and really enjoyed it. You seem to have similar experience teaching in those areas. I don't know where it was said but, If you are passionate about it, confident and competent in your skills and willing to have patience, you will be an excellent teacher.

There is a difference teaching eager and willing students rather than teaching to those who "have to be there for the class" is huge! Those that want to learn are "sponges" and will soak up all you can give them. I think this is why woodworking classes in general have such great feedback, they are there to learn and actually get quite an experience and learn a lot in a short time and feel like money and time well spent.

On the other hand, if one is faking it, or barely knows what he/she is doing, it will not last long and is easily weeded out.