(Pseudo)Sealing a Reclaimed Warehouse Door turned Table

dbailey

OK, so, I'm a pretty novice wood worker. I've built a small TV stand/entertainment center w/guidance from a more experienced relative and then a simple desk tabletop on my own.

I've long wanted a barnwood door (as does seems everyone these days). Finding the wood was proving difficult until I happened across an abandoned, burned out building in the middle of nowhere with several large doors standing off to the side, rotting away. I saved one, cut it down to length, removed the hardware (much to my chagrin but at the insistance of my fiance), and have sanded through 3 grits. I visited a local Woodcraft specialty wood working store where a very experienced gentleman believes it is old growth long leaf pine. I want to leave the table as "natural" as possible (I've left a lot of the nail heads and nicks and whatnot). I don't like the color of clear finished pine so I will be staining it dark and I also don't feel like a poly finish is appropriate for this also.

Here is the conundrum: The door is actually 2 "panels" of tounge-and-groove boards nailed back to back to eachother, one side running on a 45 degree angle (which I will use as top) and the other runs vertical. So technically, there's an airspace between the boards. It was pointed out to me that if I don't fully seal the table off, liquids (milk) if spilled, could get trapped down in there and become pretty nasty.

Knowing my issues and desires, the man at the store recommended that I stain the table, and then use a 2 part (epoxy resin & hardener) resin by System Three and essentially bead it into the cracks from the top and allow it to flow through. Then go over the table with Waterlox Original Sealer/Finish (Tung Oil) since this will be a daily eating surface.